Local Data for the World
powered by the SEMO RPC

Iron County, Missouri

Iron County is a county located in the Lead Belt region in Southeast Missouri in the United States. As of the 2010 U.S. Census, the county's population was 10,630. The largest city and county seat is Ironton. Iron County was officially organized on February 17, 1857, and was named after the abundance of iron ore found in the county.

Iron County includes the 6-mile (9.7 km)-long, 2-mile (3.2 km)-wide Arcadia Valley, the site of Pilot Knob, Ironton, and Arcadia, communities established by immigrants in the 19th Century. The valley is surrounded by the Saint Francois Mountains of the Ozarks Plateau. Iron County is also home to dozens of mountains, including the 1,772-foot (540 m) Taum Sauk Mountain, thehighest point in Missouri.

The county is home to a number of state parks and historical sites including Taum Sauk Mountain State Park, Elephant Rocks State Park and Fort Davidson State Historic Site as well as 96,047 acres (390 km2) of Mark Twain National Forest.

Read more.

Maps for Iron County

The following maps are available for Iron County:

Iron County:

  • Aerial Photos
  • Cities
  • County
  • Fire Service Areas
  • Lakes
  • Parcels
  • Railroads
  • Rivers
  • Roads
  • School Districts
  • Subdivisions

Multi-County 911 Address Search

Maps for the City of Ironton


Wastewater System

TIF District

Maps for the City of Pilot Knob

Wastewater System

Other Data for Iron County

County: Iron

County Seat: Ironton

Populations (2010 Census)

  • Iron County - 10,630
  • Annapolis - 345
  • Arcadia - 608
  • Des Arc - 177
  • Ironton - 1,460
  • Pilot Knob - 746
  • Viburnum - 693